National, News

Shirish Kunder apologises on Twitter after remarking against Adityanath

Screen Shot 2017-03-25 at 4.24.53 PMFilmmaker Shirish Kunder posted an apology on Twitter for making remarks against Uttar Pradesh’s newly appointed CM Yogi Adityanath. “I unconditionally apologise. I never meant to hurt anyone’s feelings or sentiments,” the tweet said. The tweet was termed as derogatory by right-wind leader’s supporters.

The apology from the filmmaker came after an FIR was registered against him in Lucknow. As per PTI reports, Amit Kumar Tiwari, Secretary of Thakurdwara Trust of Ayodhya, filed the complaint.

Kunder had, earlier, tweeted, “Hoping a goon will stop rioting once he is allowed to rule is like expecting a rapist to stop raping once he’s allowed to rape.”
Another tweet said, ““Going by the logic of making a goon a CM so he behaves, Dawood can be Central Bureau of Investigation’s director. And Mallya the Reserve Bank of India governor.”
The tweets were, then, deleted by him.

Shirish Kunder wasn’t the only one to suffer action against criticising UP’s new CM. On Thursday, a Noida resident was arrested after a group formed by Adityanath (the Hindu Yuva Vahini) filed a police complaint against an “objectionable” picture of their leader. Earlier, a woman in Bengaluru was also booked for “objectionable” Facebook posts against the UP chief minister, on the basis of a complaint filed by Yuva Morcha members under various sections of the IT Act.

March 25, 2017

About Author


TGC Team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign up for our weekly e-paper.

Facebook Feed

Unable to display Facebook posts.
Show error

Error: Error validating application. Application has been deleted.
Type: OAuthException
Code: 190
Please refer to our Error Message Reference.
Twitter Feed
Contact Us
We are situated in Rishikesh, and always available to hear your queries, complaints, and compliments.
The Good Chronicle,
197 Pragati Vihar, Near Natraj Chowk,
Rishikesh – 249201, Uttarakand.