Breaking News, Cover Story, Dehradun, Editorial, Haridwar, News, Rishikesh, Uttarakhand

BJP releases first list for Uttarakhand : 4 women, a dozen rebels

BJP central leadership released a list of 64 names who will contest the upcoming elections in Uttarakhand on the party ticket.
BJP List
The list includes only 4 women candidates and over a dozen Congress rebels. This also meant the axe fell on 3 sitting MLAs from the party itself including Vijaya Barthwal from Yamkeshwar.

Bhuvan Chandra Khanduri’s daughter was also drafted in from Yamkeshwar, denying sitting MLA Vijaya Barthwal a ticket.

The only other woman, apart from the 2 former Congress MLAs Rekha Arya in Someshwar and Shaila Rani Rawat in Kedarnath to receive a party ticket was Meena Gangola from Gangolihat.

No notable omissions were seen in the list at first glance. As the BJP in Uttarakhand allotted seats to most rebels and also their kin, they seem to have gone overboard in hurting the Congress vote share by undermining the aspirations of its own party workers.

While Premchand Aggarwal, two time sitting MLA was confirmed from the Rishikesh assembly constituency.

The six constituencies yet to be declared include Chakrata, Vikasnagar, Dharampur, Bhimtal, Haldwani and Ramnagar.

As many as 12 former Congress leaders got the BJP Uttarakhand party ticket including:
Kedar Singh Rawat from Yamunotri,  Rekha Arya from  Someshwar,
Harak Singh Rawat from Kotdwar, Subodh Uniyal from Narendranagar,  Kunwar Pranab Singh Champion from Khanpur, Shailendra Mohan Singhal from Jaspur, Pradeep Batra from Roorkee,
Umesh Sharma Kau from Raipur and Shaila Rani Rawat from Kedarnath among others.

Yashpal Arya, former cabinet minister in the Harish Rawat government and also former state Congress party president, who quit the Indian National Congress party earlier in the day was also given a BJP party ticket from Bajpur along with his son Sanjeev Arya from Nainital.

Only  Congress rebels to not get a ticket included former Congress Chief Minister  Vijay Bahuguna and former MLA Amruta Rawat. However, Vijay Bahuguna’s son  Saurabh Bahuguna got the BJP party ticket from  Sitarganj constituency. While stalwart Satpal Maharaj will contest from  Chaubhattakhal.

This begs the question, as we await the Congress party to release its list, will there be another BJP rebel list coming out soon?  Let’s wait and watch.

 Uttarakhand  AssemblyElections2017  PollUpdate  BJPpartytickets

January 16, 2017

About Author


Vaibhav Saklani

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign up for our weekly e-paper.

Facebook Feed

Unable to display Facebook posts.
Show error

Error: Error validating application. Application has been deleted.
Type: OAuthException
Code: 190
Please refer to our Error Message Reference.
Twitter Feed
Contact Us
We are situated in Rishikesh, and always available to hear your queries, complaints, and compliments.
The Good Chronicle,
197 Pragati Vihar, Near Natraj Chowk,
Rishikesh – 249201, Uttarakand.