Breaking News, Dehradun, Elections, Haridwar, Rishikesh, Uttarakhand

Congress declares first list of 63 names: 8 women, few rebels and PDF makes its mark

congress listsAfter much ado, delay and waiting for BJP to go through with all its plays, the Uttarakhand Congress party put out its combination. Announcing party tickets from 63 assembly constituencies, the Congress parliamentary board listed Harish Rawat shall contest from two constituencies Kichcha and Haridwar (Rural).

Uttarakhand Pradesh Congress Committee chief Kishore Upadhyay, has been fielded from Sahaspur.

Rajpal Kharola was confirmed from Rishikesh after many ups and downs and multiple rounds of deliberation.

While, Himanshu Bijalwan has been fielded from Narendranagar, Hira Singh Bisht confirmed his ticket from Doiwala. Brahmaswaroop Brahmchari already celebrated getting his confirmation from Haridwar.

Suresh Chand Jain, former MLA from BJP, who was denied a ticket from BJP in favour of Congress rebel Pradeep Batra has been rewarded with a Congress ticket from Roorkee.

Women candidates not getting enough representation continues to be a problem, only 8 women including Indira Hridyesh from Haldwani, Godavari Thapli from Mussoorie, Sarita Arya from Nainital, Mamta Rakesh from Bhagwanpur, Laxmi Rana from Rudraprayag, Ganga Pachauli from Salt, Suneeta Bajwa from Bazpur, and Malti Bishwas from Sitarganj were given the Congress party nod.

The other notable candidates fielded included Dan Singh Bhandari from Bhimtal, Suryakant Dhasmana from Dehradun Cantt., Harish Chandra Durgapal from Lalkuan, Mantri Prasad Naithani from Deoprayag and Tilak Raj Behar has been fielded from Rudrapur.

Editor’s take: The Congress list gives the impression of a confident reply to the strong BJP list announced almost a week ago. A closer look shows Harish Rawat putting his foot down for the PDF inclusion. It also shows a certain scrambling for a few coveted seats. Kishore Upadhyay seems to be helpless as in fighting and protests erupted at the party headquarters in Dehradun soon after the announcement. On paper, Congress seems to be the underdog in the fight to win the Uttarakhand assembly elections 2017. However, the public mood is still split against the same-old same-old Congress party and now the not so new Modi-led BJP. Que sera sera!!!

January 22, 2017

About Author


Vaibhav Saklani

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign up for our weekly e-paper.

Facebook Feed

Happy New Year 2018!!! ... See MoreSee Less

As the calendar changes to a new year we wish our little #PolyKidsSweethearts, parents, guardians, friends and our beloved patrons an extremely prosperous 2018 filled with lots of learning and fun experiences. HAPPY NEW YEAR 2018!!! #PolyKidsRishikesh

View on Facebook
Twitter Feed
Contact Us
We are situated in Rishikesh, and always available to hear your queries, complaints, and compliments.
The Good Chronicle,
197 Pragati Vihar, Near Natraj Chowk,
Rishikesh – 249201, Uttarakand.