Breaking News, National, News

Congress wins Punjab; major upset for outgoing SAD & AAP

A percentage & party wise break-up of vote share in Punjab

A percentage & party wise break-up of vote share in Punjab

The Congress party won 77 (38.5% votes) of the 117 seats in Punjab, upsetting the two major contenders in the state – the Shiromani Akali Dal and the Aam Aadmi Party, the latter of which had its hopes pinned quite high. The INC was followed by AAP, who managed to win a meagre 20 seats (23.7% votes). The BJP and SAD were trailing behind AAP at 3 (5.4% votes) and 15 seats (25.2%) respectively. The Lok Insaf party managed to win 2 seats (1.2% votes) out of the total 117.

The news of Congress’s win could not have arrived on a better for Captain Amarinder Singh, who was coincidentally celebrating his 75th birthday on the day of the results.

The Congress’s win, now gives them clear majority to form a government in Punjab.

The Captain, who was contesting from two seats – Patiala and Lambi – won in Patiala, however, and lost in Lambi to outgoing chief minister, Prakash Singh Badal.

The Congress party managed to hit it home by a victory margin of over 30,000 votes.

To be chief minister of Punjab, Captain Amarinder Singh

To be chief minister of Punjab, Captain Amarinder Singh

For the most part, a large chunk of votes from the Hindu, as well as Urban population lead to the party’s historic win in Punjab.

Surprisingly, out of the 81 female candidates who contested from the Punjab, only 6 of these candidates could manage a win. Based on these figures, the 117-seat assembly will be made up of 5% of women, only. This is a huge drop from the figure of 14 women out of 93, who had won in the previous elections, leading to a dismal show for one part of the gender spectrum.

Some of the major urban wins for the Congress in Punjab were:

Jalandhar Cantt. – Pargat Singh Powar

Jalandhar Central – Rajendar Beri

Jalandhar North – Avtar Singh Junior

Jalandhar West – Sushil Kumar Rinku

Amritsar Central – Om Prakash Soni

Amritsar North – Sunil Datti

Amritsar East – Navjot Singh Sidhu

Amritsar West – Raj Kumar Verka

Amritsar South – Inderbir Singh Bolaria

Hoshiarpur – Sunder Sham Arora

Patiala – Amrindar Singh

Ludhiana Central – Surinder Kumar Dawar

Ludhiana North – Rakesh Pandey

Ludhiana East – Sanjeev Talwar

Ludhiana West – Bharat Bhushan (Ashu)

Pathankot – Amit

Gurdaspur – Barindermeet Singh Pahra

Following the party’s decisive win, Captain Amarinder Singh will be sworn in as the chief minister of Punjab on March 16, in a supposedly low key ceremony.


March 14, 2017

About Author


TGC Team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign up for our weekly e-paper.

Facebook Feed

Unable to display Facebook posts.
Show error

Error: Error validating application. Application has been deleted.
Type: OAuthException
Code: 190
Please refer to our Error Message Reference.
Twitter Feed
Contact Us
We are situated in Rishikesh, and always available to hear your queries, complaints, and compliments.
The Good Chronicle,
197 Pragati Vihar, Near Natraj Chowk,
Rishikesh – 249201, Uttarakand.