Did you know that there are nearly 400 million owned firearms in the United States? While it is perfectly legal to keep a gun within your home, not everybody understands if they can keep a gun in their car without breaking the law. This is especially true in California.
So, can you carry a gun in your car in this state?
Let’s take a look at everything you need to know about California gun laws and how they apply here.
Can You Carry a Gun in Your Car?
In California, it is illegal to carry a loaded firearm in your car unless you have a permit for it. The only exceptions are if it is unloaded and stored safely within the vehicle out of reach from the driver or persons that are inside the car. If you do not have a license, the gun must be locked in the trunk or another secured container.
Additionally, you cannot transport firearms from one state to another without a proper permit, and it is illegal to transport weapons across the border. Unfortunately, some road rage incidents involve firearms.
You can check out this page to learn more about how to deal with road rage car accidents that involve guns.
What Else Should You Know About California Gun Laws?
In order to legally purchase a firearm in California, you must be at least 21 years old and have a valid ID that proves your age.
Furthermore, you are required to fill out paperwork and pass a background check through the Department of Justice.
You also need to be aware that it is illegal to possess certain firearms and firearm accessories in California, including machine guns, assault rifles, and silencers. Additionally, it is prohibited to buy ammunition online or any other type of delivery service; they must be purchased in person at a licensed dealer.
Finally, keep in mind that it is illegal to carry a firearm in any public place including schools, parks, and other areas designated by law.
How Do I Acquire My Concealed Carry Permit?
In California, you can acquire a concealed carry permit by meeting certain requirements.
These include being at least 21 years old, having taken a firearms safety training course, and passing an extensive background check. Additionally, the state requires that you demonstrate good moral character which includes not having any recent convictions or pending criminal cases.
Once you have met all the requirements and passed the background check, you can apply for a concealed carry permit with your local law enforcement. The process may take up to two months to complete, so be sure to plan in advance.
Don’t Overlook These Laws
It’s crucial that you keep this information in mind about you can carry a gun in your car in California. The above guidelines will help ensure that you avoid problems you may have otherwise dealt with.
Looking for other useful info that can help you out in the future? Be sure to check out the rest of our blog!