Trivendra Singh Rawat Swears In As The Eighth Chief Minister Of The State, 11 Things To Know About Him!

In the aftermath of 2017 state assembly elections, BJP confirmed Trivendra Singh Rawat as the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand on Friday evening. Even though he was always the front-runner for the job, the news was confirmed after the party MLAs met to take the final decision. Rawat had won the Assembly elections from Doiwala with a vote margin of 24,869. Altogether, the BJP had secured a landslide victory by winning 57 of the state’s 70 seats when Assembly election results were declared on March 11.

Trivendra Singh Rawat swore in as the 8th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand at 3 pm on March 18, 2017 at Parade Ground, Dehradun.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s state-leader said his top priority would be development and eradicating poverty in the state.

The oath was administered by Uttarakhand Governor KK Paul in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah.

Satpal Maharaj, Harak Singh Rawat, Prakash Pant, Madan Kaushik, Yashpal Arya, Subodh Uniyal and Rekha Arya were among the nine legislatures who took oath as the Cabinet Ministers for the party in power.

Trivendra Singh Rawat: 11 things to know about the new CM

1. Rawat was born in December 1960 in the village of Khairasain in Pauri Garhwal district of Uttarakhand.

2. The 56-year-old has a post graduate degree in History and a diploma in Journalism from Srinagar.

3. Rawat joined the right-wing organization RSS in 1979 before becoming its pracharak (apostle) for the Dehradun region in 1985. He continued his work with Sangh till 2002.

4. He was elevated to the post of organizing secretary of the Uttarakhand region and later held the same position for Uttarakhand the state, after its formation in 2000.

5. He was also in charge of the Jharkhand BJP and is credited with the party’s impressive victory in the 2014 assembly elections.

6. He made the headlines for the first time by winning state’s first legislative assembly elections in 2002 from Doiwala constituency.

7. Trivendra Singh lost a by-election from Doiwala in 2014, when the seat was vacated by former CM Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank.Rawat retained his seat in 2007 state elections and served as the Minister of Agriculture till 2012.

8. He has no criminal cases recorded against him and declared assets worth more than Rs 1 crore.

9. He was involved in a controversy when a defamation suit was filed against him in the ‘seed scam’. Although, Rawat claimed that an investigation initiated by the Congress government had failed to prove him guilty.

10. He was elected from Doiwala constituency of Dehradun district this election. He has a record of winning all three times he has contested from the Doiwala seat.

11. Rawat won the 2017 elections from Doiwala with a vote margin of 24,869. He has been elected as the 8th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand for the Fourth Assembly (2017–22).